Exhibition MIGZ Space 2011

Published 20.09.11 by stain in Photo, Space

MIGZ Space 2011

Installations created exclusively by Aske, Paralab, Co-de-It, ::vtol:: & Stain, works by Alexander Lysov, Leanne Eisen, Tatiana Plakhova, and In[visible] studio's interactive piece at MIGZ Space 2011.

Exhibition presents an artist's view on the matter of today - generative graphics, parametric design, interactivity and even radio waves. We tried to present something important and interesting. Hope there was a chance in this space to catch the meaning of so different artworks.

Many thanks to artists and everyone who helped to create the exposition

 

LEANNE EISEN

Scan

Leanne Eisen - Scan

Manitoba, Up in Flames I, 2010
Manitoba, Up in Flames II, 2010
Data CD-R (Submissions Package,Truck Contemporary Art), 2010
Blank DVD-R, 2010
Blank CD-R, 700MB

"(In her series Scan), Eisen explores the effects of movement and reflection in a digital technology that renders the material into data. The resulting works resemble ethereal landscapes, floating apparitions or maybe distant galaxies, however the pieces are more than merely finding shapes in the clouds, there is the presence of sheer volumes of space and distance, and the photographic feeling of capturing the image of something living and breathing. The images stimulate more questions than answers, with the viewer unable to come to any concrete conclusions about the works, leaving them in a sublime limbo." - Zachary Eastwood-Bloom, Klat Magazine

leanneeisen.com

 

 

CO-DE-IT

Convoluted inferences

Co-de-It - Convoluted Inferences

computational design, polypropylene, lasercut, 2011

"The eye is, in itself, a poor organ for vision: while our peripheral vision feeds our brain with a general but blurred image, our ability to perceive the details is limited to the narrow fovea (the only part of the retina that permits 100% visual acuity) in the eye's retina. Vision is then a matter of unconscious inferences: making assumptions and conclusions from incomplete data, based on previous experiences.

Thriving on these defaults, the installation works on a varying range of perceptive and affective scales: the convolutions of the overall shape, generated from the simulated material behavior, cause an inferential reaction on the observer by showing an incomplete set of information about the general shape itself, which contours furthermore vibrate for the complexity of the component. This inference and the inability to perceive the details trigger an atractive process, but the complexity of the component detail can be appreciated only at a scale where the perception of the whole is lost; rolling backwards, it becomes clear that the effect of the whole is more than just the sum of the constituent parts. 
The installation doesn't embed a specific meaning or direct/indirect intentional metaphor about what has to be discovered or the discovery as a process, rather it is an experiment (or proof of concept) on how morphology, organization, material systems and patterns have the ability to trigger dynamic behavioral effects and interaction in space and time. Complexity is engaged on the level of articulating excess and exuberance as systems where form, space, material and ornament create an intricate elegance on a perceptual scale gradient."

co-de-it.com

 

 

ASKE

Quadra Universe

Aske - Quadra Universe

relief 4*4 m, foamed polystyrene, acrylic paint, 2011

Relief geometric composition symbolizes integration of soul, body, mind and spirit, the fundamental elements of human essence. 

sicksystems.ru

 

 

PARALAB

Continuous Vaults

Paralab - Continuous Vaults

biflex, wooden frame, 2011

We had got into the way of flat and even ceilings. But ceiling once used to be a vault, a dome. 'Continuous Vaults' installation is a memory of the past and a new interpretation of space that is nearer to the sky. 

prlb.ru

 

 

TATIANA PLAKHOVA

Selected works

Tatiana Plakhova

digital backlight print

"Illustration style called “Networkizm” combines areas of informational and mathematical design, infographics, science, energetics, space, networks of different kinds, cultural patterns and biology. Works are based on simplicity of points, lines, links and fundamental principles of infographics design." 

complexitygraphics.com

 

 

IN[VISIBLE]

Voronoid 

In[visible] - Voronoid
interactive installation, 2011

"Installation operates contemporary Fidget Noir style and is developed on the grounds of 'Topologies' series by Quayola.  As opposed to originals, here momentary images from the camera are converted itto brittle edges, and this intensify transience of the output - freezing random images transformed into crumpled paper surface, a symbol of used and throwed away as no longer needed.."

in-visible.ru

 

 

ALEXANDER LYSOV

Triangle structure

Alexander Lysov - Triangle structure 
direct print on acrylic glass, 2010

“I create my pieces using computer software and mathematical algorithms modeling a complex system, that can be ordered or highly disordered. This system produce digital images with a certain degree of autonomy through the use of random or pseudo-random data that affect or completely determine the outcome. I use the method of modeling errors and failures that occur in processes that use the program, introducing some amount of chaos in a mathematically exact result, giving it some autonomy.”

hellomyfuture.ru

 

 

::VTOL:: и STAIN

Aether

::vtol:: & Stain - Aether
radiowave sensor, analog sound synthesizer, algorhitms for sound and video creation, print on PVC, 2011

This piece is a study on echoes of electromagnetic radiation, that became an essential part of present-day ecology.

The concept of Aether, a substance diffused in the world space, indispensable for the system, - has fascinated philosophers of many cultures.  Today we are searching for it again, that unmanifested, giving an invisible basis for philosophy and aesthetics. 

The installation consists of two parts: the first one - printed visualizations of recorded radio noise made ​​at 9 points in Moscow, among them are Ostankino Tower, the University, the Pushkin Museum, Moscow City. The second part allows to see and hear radiowave background, which surrounds the audience in the exhibition space.

vtol.tk

stain.ws

О выставке MIGZ Space 2011

Опубликовано 20.09.11 пользователем stain в Фото, Space

MIGZ Space 2011

Специально созданные для фестиваля инсталляции художников Aske, Paralab, Co-de-It, ::vtol:: и Stain, графические работы Александра Лысова, Leanne Eisen и Татьяны Плаховой, а также интерактивная инсталляция студии In[visible] на выставке MIGZ Space 2011.

Это экспериментальное, не стандартно выставочное пространство стало продолжением исследования интересов аудитории MIGZ. Мы старались представить нечто важное и интересное. Надеемся, что в этом пространстве была возможность уловить смысл настолько разных произведений. 

Большое спасибо художникам и всем, кто помогал в создании экспозиции

 

 

LEANNE EISEN

Scan

Leanne Eisen - Scan

Manitoba, Up in Flames I, 2010
Manitoba, Up in Flames II, 2010
Data CD-R (Submissions Package,Truck Contemporary Art), 2010
Blank DVD-R, 2010
Blank CD-R, 700MB

“В серии Scan Айсен исследует эффекты движения и отражения, используя цифровую технику, которая преобразует материал в данные. В результате работы напоминают неземные пейзажи, плавающие видения, быть может, далекие галактики; однако это больше, чем просто поиск формы в облаках, - здесь явно присутствует объем, пространство и расстояние, а также фотографическое чувство фиксации живого, подвижного образа.” - Zachary Eastwood-Bloom, Klat Magazine

leanneeisen.com

 

 

CO-DE-IT

Convoluted inferences

Co-de-It - Convoluted Inferences

параметрический объект, полипропилен, лазерная резка, 2011

“Человеческий глаз - несовершенный орган зрения: периферическое зрение дает общий размытый образ, а наша способность видеть детали ограничена центром сетчатки, которая дает 100% резкости. Воспринимаемая картина, таким образом, является результатом неосознанных умозаключений, которые делаются на основе неполной информации и предыдущего опыта.

Опираясь на эти свойства, инсталляция задействует широкий спектр оттенков восприятия. Искривление общей формы, созданное путем симуляции физических свойств материала, вызывает у наблюдателя впечатление неполных данных о форме объекта, а его контур варьируется из-за сложности компонентов. Невозможность увидеть больше деталей привлекает внимание, однако структура элементов видна только вблизи, когда невозможно увидеть объект целиком. Eсли отойти назад, становится видно, что эффект целого - это больше, чем просто сумма слагаемых частей.”

co-de-it.com

 

 

ASKE

Quadra Universe

Aske - Quadra Universe

рельеф 4*4 м, пенополистирол, акрил, 2011

Рельефная геометрическая композиция, символизирующая объединение души, тела, разума и духа, как базовых элементов человеческой сущности.

sicksystems.ru

 

 

PARALAB

Continuous Vaults

Paralab - Continuous Vaults

бифлекс, деревянный каркас, 2011

Мы привыкли к плоским и гладким потолкам. Но потолок был когда-то сводом, куполом. Continuous Vaults - память о прошлом и новое прочтение пространства, которое ближе к небу.

prlb.ru

 

 

ТАТЬЯНА ПЛАХОВА

Избранное

Tatiana Plakhova

цифровая печать backlight

"Стиль иллюстраций, названный “Networkizm”, объединяет сферы информационного и математического дизайна, инфографики, науки, энергетики, космоса, разного вида сетей, культурных паттернов и биологии. Работы основаны на простоте точек, линий, взаимосвязей и основных принципах построения инфографики."

complexitygraphics.com

 

 

IN[VISIBLE]

Voronoid 

In[visible] - Voronoid

интерактивная инсталляция, 2011

"Инсталляция эксплуатирует современный стиль Fidget Noir и создана по мотивам серии работ Quayola 'Topologies'. В отличие от оригиналов, здесь в ломкие грани превращаются сиюминутные изображения с видеокамеры, что усиливает мимолётность результата - застывающие случайные образы, трансформированные в фактуру мятой бумаги, как символа использованного и отброшенного за ненадобностью.."

in-visible.ru

 

 

АЛЕКСАНДР ЛЫСОВ

Triangle structure

Alexander Lysov - Triangle structure 
печать на акриловом стекле, 2010

“В своих же работах я использую метод моделирования ошибок и сбоев, которые возникают в процессе выполнения программы, внося некоторую долю хаоса в математически точный результат, давая ей некоторую автономность. Накапливающиеся незаметные сбои в итоге приводят к появлению уникальности каждого имиджа, сгенерированного алгоритмом, дестабилизируя визуальную структуру.

Для меня творческий процесс является исследованием, всегда связан с методом проб и ошибок, и анализ их последствий более интересен, чем создание чего-то идеального. Идеальность несет в себе некий тоталитаризм, сбой же, её разрушающий, и моделирование этого сбоя в самой системе, вводят систему в бесконечную рекурсию, внося в нее подобие жизни.”

hellomyfuture.ru

 

 

::VTOL:: и STAIN

Aether

::vtol:: & Stain - Aether

датчик электромагнитных волн, аналоговый синтезатор, алгоритмы синтеза звука и видео, печать на ПВХ, 2011

В этой работе авторы изучают отголоски фонового электромагнитного излучения, ставшего неотъемлемой частью современной экологии.

Понятие Эфира, разлитой в мировом пространстве субстанции, незаменимой для системы, на протяжении истории увлекало мыслителей разных культур. Сегодня мы снова ищем то, непроявленное, дающее невидимую основу для философии и эстетики.

Инсталляция состоит из двух частей: первая - напечатанные на лентах визуализации записей радио шума, сделанных в 9 точках Москвы около ключевых объектов города, среди которых - Останкинская телебашня, Университет, Пушкинский музей, Москва-Сити. Вторая часть позволяет слышать и видеть радиоволновой фон, который окружает зрителей в пространстве выставки.

vtol.tk

stain.ws